CITIZENS COINAGE ADVISORY COMMITTEE Tuesday, January 17, 2017 1:00 p.m. By Teleconference

United States Mint 801 9th Street NW Washington, D.C. 20220

In attendance:

CCAC
Mary Lannin, Chair
Robert Hoge
Erik Jansen
Michael Moran

Jeanne Stevens-Sollman

Dennis Tucker Thomas Uram Herman Viola

Other Participants
Betty Birdsong
April Stafford
Greg Weinman
Jim Adams, Senior Historian, Museum of
the American Indian

- 1. Chairperson Lannin opened the meeting at 1:00 pm.
- 2. Minutes of the previous meeting and letters to Secretary of the Treasury Lew were approved unanimously, moved by the Chair and seconded by Robert Hoge.
- 3. April Stafford of the United States Mint Design Management team presented the Committee information on the design concepts for the 2019 and 2020 Native American \$1 Coin Program.
- 4. For the 2019 dollar coin, the theme is "American Indians in the Space Program." American Indians have been on the modern frontier of spaceflight since the beginning of NASA. American Indians' service includes achievements such as the three spacewalks from the International Space Station by John Herrington of the Chickasaw Nation and dates back to the work of Mary Golda Ross. She's considered the first female American Indian engineer and helped develop the spacecraft for the Gemini and Apollo space programs.
- 5. For the 2020 Native American dollar coin, the theme is "Elizabeth Peratrovich and Alaska's Anti-Discrimination Law." The first anti-discrimination law in the United States prohibiting discrimination in access to public accommodations was passed in the Alaskan Territorial Government in 1945. Elizabeth Peratrovich of the Tlingit Nation, through her advocacy for Alaskan natives and with her husband, Roy, gave

- an impassioned speech in the Alaskan Senate in support of the law. She's widely credited with getting it passed. It was noted that 2020 marks the 75th anniversary of Elizabeth Peratrovich's famous testimony in support of our nation's first anti-discrimination law.
- 6. Mr. Adams added the name of Jerry Elliott, who is Osage and Comanche and was the retrofit engineer for the Apollo 13 re-entry and developed the trajectory which brought that spacecraft back. He received a Presidential Medal of Freedom.
- 7. Robert Hoge: 2019 images of arrow, arrowhead, and high tech electronics; 2020 images of clasped hands.
- 8. Jeanne Stevens-Sollman: 2019 celestial representations, Space Station, image of Mary Ross; 2020 images of many hands.
- 9. Michael Moran: 2019 Mary Golda Ross; 2020 Tlingit symbols and hands, Elizabeth Peratrovich.
- 10. Dennis Tucker: 2019 Mary Golda Ross emphasizing her work as an educator and mathematician; 2020 clasped hands.
- 11. Thomas Uram: 2019 a broader design coordinated with the 2019 Apollo 11 50th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Program; 2020 theme of clasped hands.
- 12. Herman Viola: 2019 stars, celestial imagery and Mary Gold Ross; 2020 Raven symbol of Tlingit moiety.
- 13. Erik Jansen: 2019 imagery of rockets dovetailing with but separate from Apollo 11 commemorative program; 2020 Tlingit moiety symbols of wolf, raven and eagle, also perhaps a totem pole as a symbol.
- 14. Mary Lannin: 2019 Mary Golda Ross with image of arrow composed of mathematical symbols aimed at sky or Space Station; 2020 hands ripping sign of "No Indians allowed," totem pole centered on map of Alaska at Juneau's center.
- 15. Mr. Adams offered the additional thought for 2020 imagery of a Northwest carved door as a welcoming symbol. Erik Jansen and Herman Viola voiced their thoughts on this positive symbol.
- 16. Motion by the Chair to adjourn, seconded by Herman Viola. Meeting adjourned at 1:41 pm.